New Technologies

Introducing the new CCIE Security certification

New exams go live on April 27, 2020


The new CCIE Security certification program prepares you for today’s expert-level job roles in security technologies. CCIE Security now includes automation and programmability to help you scale your security solutions.

One of the industry’s most respected certifications, CCIE distinguishes you as a technical leader.


There are no formal prerequisites for CCIE Security, but you should have a good understanding of the exam topics before taking the exam.

CCIE candidates are recommended to have five to seven years of experience with designing, deploying, operating and optimizing security technologies and solutions prior to taking the exam.

Exams and recommended training

New exams go live on April 27, 2020

To earn CCIE Security, you pass two exams: a qualifying exam and hands-on lab exam:

Step 1: Pass the qualifying exam

Implementing and Operating Cisco Security Core Technologies (SCOR 350-701)

The qualifying exam, Implementing and Operating Cisco Security Core Technologies, focuses on your knowledge of data center infrastructure.

The qualifying exam earns a specialist certification, so you can get recognized for your accomplishments along the way.

Recommended training: Implementing and Operating Cisco Security Core Technologies (SCOR)

Step 2: Pass the lab exam

CCIE Security v6.0

This 8-hour hands-on lab exam covers the end-to-end lifecycle of complex security solutions and technologies, from designing and deploying to operating and optimizing.

Migrating to the new program

On April 27, 2020, the new CCIE Security certification v6.0 will replace the current CCIE Security v5.0.

If you have started working toward the current CCIE Security certification, keep going. In the new program, you’ll receive credit for work you’ve completed in the current certification.

  • If you pass the current CCIE Security v5.0 written exam before April 27, you will be eligible to take the new CCIE Security v6.0 lab exam after April 27.
  • After April 27, the CCIE Security v5.0 written exam, will be replaced with SCOR 350-701. After you pass SCOR 350-701, you will earn the Cisco Certified Specialist – Security Core certification.
  • If you complete the entire CCIE Security certification before April 27, then as of April 27, you’ll maintain your CCIE Security certification as per the new recertification guidelines, and you will also receive the Cisco Certified Specialist – Security core certification.